Saturday, May 17, 2014

    NAS, CLER and the Milestones
    Moderator: Alan R. Cohen, MD

    9:00-9:30am Neurosurgery RRC Update H. Hunt Betjer, MD
    9:30-10:00am Accreditation Update Pamela L. Derstine, PhD
    10:00-10:30am Clinical Learning Environment Review: Implications for Neurosurgery Robin Wagner, RN, MHSA
    10:30-10:45am Break  
    10:45-11:10am Milestone Pilot Group and Adoption Update Nathan R. Selden, MD, PhD
    11:10-11:35am Using the Matrix Curriculum Timothy B. Mapstone, MD
    11:35-12:00pm Residency Interview Redesign Daniel L. Barrow, MD

    Saturday, May 17, 2014

    PM - Elective Rotations/CAST
    Moderator: M. Sean Grady, MD

    1:00-2:00pm CAST Update Artur L. Day, MD
    2:00-2:30pm CAST Q&A Artur L. Day, MD
    2:30-2:45pm Break  
    2:45-3:00pm Pathways for "Elective time" Neurosurgery Residency L. Dade Lunsford, MD
    3:00-3:20pm The Role of Outcomes Science in Residency Education Matthew J. McGirt, MD
    3:20-3:40pm Outcomes Science: Fundamentals and Approaches Robert E. Harbaugh, MD
    3:40-4:00pm Away Rotations: Necessity vs. Luxury Nicholas M. Barbaro, MD

    Sunday, May 18, 2014

    Session 1 — Sunday Morning – Mayo Host Program
    Moderator: Fredric B. Meyer, MD

    8:00-8:15am Welcome Fredric B. Meyer, MD
    8:15-9:00am History and Culture of the Mayo Clinic Kerry D. Olsen, MD
    9:00-9:15am The Discovery of Steroids Richard Weinshilboum, MD
    9:15-9:30am Department of Neurology Overview Robert D. Brown, Jr., MD, Chair
    9:30-10:15am Department of Neurologic Surgery Overview Fredric B. Meyer, MD, Chair
    10:15-10:30am Break  
    10:30-10:45am Skull Base Program Michael J. Link, MD
    10:45-11:00am Epilepsy Program W. Richard Marsh, MD
    11:00-11:15am Endovascular Program: The Role of Diversion Technologies Giuseppe Lanzino, MD
    11:15-11:30am Building a Brachial Plexus Clinic Robert J. Spinner, MD
    11:30-11:45am Intradural Spinal Surgery William E. Krauss, MD
    11:45-12:00pm Emerging Technologies in Deep Brain Stimulation Kendall H. Lee, MD, PhD

    Sunday, May 18, 2014

    Session 2 — Sunday Afternoon – Research Training and Strategic Planning
    Moderator: Gregory J. Zipfel, MD

    1:00-1:05pm Introduction of Jill Bolte Taylor, PhD Robert M. Friedlander, MD, MA
    1:05-1:45pm Keynote Address: My Stroke of Insight Jill Bolte Taylor, PhD
    1:45-2:00pm Strategic Research Update Robert M. Friedlander, MD, MA
    2:00-2:20pm NINDS Update Story C. Landis, PhD
    2:20-2:25pm Announcement of Winn Award and Lecture Ralph C. Dacey, Jr., MD
    2:25-3:20pm Winn Award Lecture: Neurosurgery Research: Creativity, Adaptability and Survival Matthew A. Howard, III, MD
    3:20-3:35pm Break  
    3:35-3:55pm SNS Strategic Plan Ralph G. Dacey, Jr. MD
    3:55-4:15pm The Future of Individualized Medicine Konstantinos N. Lazaridis, MD
    4:15-4:20pm Introduction of Grossman Award Lecture Kim J. Burchiel, MD
    4:20-5:15pm Grossman Lecture: Dorsal Horn Cell Transplant Allan Basbaum, PhD

    Monday, May 19, 2014

    Session 3 — Monday Morning – Resident Workforce/Preparing Our Residents and Junior Faculty
    Moderator: Anil Nanda, MD

    8:00-8:05am Introduction of Atul Grover, MD, PhD Anil Nanda, MD
    8:05-8:45am Keynote Address: Resident Workforce Atul Grover, MD, PhD, Chief Public Policy Officer, AAMC
    8:45-9:00am Neurosurgical Workforce Alex B. Valadka, MD
    9:00-9:30am Ten Years after the institution of the 80 work hour restriction. What have we learned? What has changed? H. Hunt Batjer, MD and Fredric B. Meyer, MD
    9:30-10:00am Open Forum: Future of Neurosurgical training and workforce Atul Grover, MD, PhD, Alex B. Valadka, MD, H. Hunt Batjer, MD, Fredric B. Meyer, MD
    10:00-10:15am Break  
    10:15-10:25am Use of simulators in neurosurgery Bernard R. Bendok, MD
    10:25-10:40am Faculty career development: Outcomes & quality Paul C. McCormick, MD, MPH
    10:40-10:55am Supporting Faculty through Transition from K to R Awards Robert J. Dempsey, MD
    10:55-11:00am Distinguished Service Award to Robert J. Dempsey, MD Introduced by Allan H. Friedman, MD
    11:00-11:05am Introduction of Kim J. Burchiel, MD SNS President by Nicholas M. Barbaro, MD
    11:05-12:00pm Presidential Address: Janus Kim J. Burchiel, MD

    Monday, May 19, 2014

    Session 4 — Monday Afternoon – Financial Realities and Challenges for Neurosurgery and Medicine in General
    Moderator: Ian Pollack

    1:00-1:15pm Historical Vignette Donald O. Quest, MD
    1:15-1:45pm Surviving and Excelling during Health Care Reform John H. Noseworthy, MD, CEO, Mayo Clinic
    1:45-1:50pm Introduction of Michael Porter Robert M. Friedlander, MD, MA
    1:50-2:30pm Keynote Address: Value Based Healthcare Delivery: The Strategy that will fix Healthcare Michael Porter, PhD
    2:30-3:00pm Open Forum: Economic future of healthcare John H. Noseworthy, MD and Michael Porter, PhD
    3:00-3:15pm Break  
    3:15-3:35pm Working within an ACO Zoher Ghogawala, MD
    3:35-3:50pm Development of alternative practice plans Chris Kubycheck, Department Administrator -Northwestern
    3:50-4:10pm CEO Perspective on Neuroscience Center Development in a Changing Health Care Landscape Paul Viviano, MPH, Vice Chancellor and CEO of UCSD Health System
    4:10-4:30pm System Integration and Neuroscience Center Development-the Swedish Experience Marc R. Mayberg, MD
    4:30-4:45pm The Neuroscience Center as a Platform for Medical Education in an Era of Physician Quality Reporting: Challenges and Opportunities Alexander A. Khalessi, MD
    4:45-5:15pm Leadership on times of change Bill George, MBA, Professor of Management Practice, Harvard Business School

    Tuesday, May 20, 2014

    Session 5 — Tuesday Morning – Updates in Neurosurgery Education
    Moderator: Sander Connolly

    7:30-7:40am Match Committee Daniel L. Barrow, MD
    7:40-7:50am RUNN Update Allan H. Friedman, MD and Robert M. Friedlander, MD, MA
    7:50-8:20am Washington Committee: My View on the Way Forward John A. Wilson, MD
    8:20-8:30am ABNS Update Fredric B. Meyer, MD
    8:30-8:40am CAST Update Arthur L. Day, MD
    8:40-8:50am Endovascular Training Adnan H. Siddiqui, MD, PhD
    8:50-9:00am Neurocritical Care Training Robert E. Harbaugh, MD
    9:00-10:00am Streamlining Organized Neurosurgery Ralph G. Dacey, Jr., MD

We use cookies to improve the performance of our site, to analyze the traffic to our site, and to personalize your experience of the site. You can control cookies through your browser settings. Please find more information on the cookies used on our site here. Privacy Policy