

www.societyns.org

The Society of Neurological Surgeons is pleased to announce Nominations are now open for the 2020 H. Richard Winn, MD, Prize

The purpose of this international award is to encourage research in the neurosciences and to recognize outstanding, continuous commitment to research in the neurosciences by a neurological surgeon. For more details, please see: http://www.societyns.org/

The Society of Neurological Surgeons has established a committee composed of neurosurgeons and neuroscientists to evaluate candidates and select an annual awardee. We invite you and your colleagues to submit nominations. In order to encourage a broad solicitation, the Society would appreciate dispersing this announcement to your colleagues and faculty. Please note that the goal of *The Winn Prize* is to recognize accomplished, but active investigators and not to honor individuals whose career, however distinguished, is emeritus. Previous Grass Prize awardees are ineligible.

Nominations for the Winn Prize must be accompanied by:

- 1) A letter containing a short summary of the nominee's significant scientific accomplishments and contributions.
- 2) A current CV
- 3) PDF's of three to five papers, which the nominee feels represent their most significant, and substantial research contributions.

This information should be sent **electronically** to the Chair of the Winn Prize Selection committee:

E. Antonio Chiocca, MD, PhD, FAANS
Harvey W. Cushing Professor of Neurosurgery
Established by the Daniel E. Ponton Fund
Harvard Medical School
Chairman, Department of Neurosurgery
Brigham and Women's Hospital
Boston, MA 02115
eachiocca@bwh.harvard.edu

PRESIDENT

Karin Muraszko, MD
University of Michigan Health System
Department of Neurosurgery
1540 E Hospital Drive
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
734-936-7010
karinm@med.umich.edu

PRESIDENT-ELECT

M. Sean Grady, MD University of Pennsylvania Department of Neurosurgery 3400 Spruce St Philadelphia, PA 19104 215-349-8325 gradys@uphs.upenn.edu

VICE PRESIDENT

Shelly D. Timmons, MD, PhD Indiana University
Dept of Neurosurgery
355 W 16th Street, Suite 5100
Indianapolis, IN 46202
317-963-8183
stimmons@mac.com

SECRETARY

Nathan R. Selden, MD, PhD Oregon Health & Science University, Dept of Neurosurgery 3303 SW Bond Avenue, CH8N Portland, OR 97239-4501 503-494-4314 seldenn@ohsu.edu

TREASURER

M. Sean Grady, MD University of Pennsylvania Department of Neurosurgery 3400 Spruce St Philadelphia, PA 19104 215-349-8325 gradys@uphs.upenn.edu The H. Richard Winn Prize has been established by the generous support of family, friends, colleagues, former residents and grateful patients (see http://www.societyns.org/).

Biography of H. Richard Winn, M.D.

H. Richard Winn, MD, trained in Neurological Surgery at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville under John A. Jane, MD, PhD. During residency he spent a year in England at Atkinson Morley's Hospital and had the opportunity start clinical research on the natural history of cerebral aneurysms working with Alan Richardson and pursuing long-term outcome studies initiated by Sir Wylie McKissock. Following military service with the US Army in Germany, Dr. Winn returned to Charlottesville where he pursued basic science training in cardiovascular and cerebrovascular physiology under the direction of Robert M. Berne, Professor of Physiology and began his studies on the role of adenosine and cerebral blood flow regulation. He has been continuously funded by the NIH since 1974 for this ongoing effort.

He held faculty positions in the Departments of Neurosurgery and Physiology at the University of Virginia, rising to full Professor and Vice Chairman of Neurological Surgery until 1983 when he moved to University of Washington as the Professor and Chairman of the Department of Neurological Surgery with joint Professorship in the Department of Physiology and Biophysics. In 2003, after spending several months as a Visiting Professor in the Department of Surgery (Neurosurgery) at Tribhuvan University Teaching Hospital in Kathmandu, Nepal, he moved to Mount Sinai Medical School where he was appointed as a tenured Professor in the Departments of Neurosurgery and Neuroscience.

His clinical interests are centered on cerebrovascular disease, trauma and oncology while simultaneously continuing to pursue basic investigations in the laboratory. He was awarded a Jacob Javits Neuroscience Investigator Award from the NIH. Other honors include being selected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (1992) "for studies in cerebral metabolism and for pioneering investigations defining the physiologic regulation of brain blood flow," the Wakeman Award for Research in the Neurosciences (1990), the Sir Wylie McKissock Neuroscience Prize (1992) from St. George's Medical School, London and the Grass Foundation Award (1999) from the Society of Neurological Surgery "for excellence in research contributions in the areas of science and academic neurosurgery." He also received the Distinguished Alumnus Award from the Haverford School (2000) and the Distinguished Service Award from the Society of Neurological Surgeons (2005).

(From: http://www.societyns.org/)